10 states honored for long-life asphalt roads

Ten departments of transportation were named winners of the 2016 Perpetual Pavement Award by Asphalt Pavement Association (APA). The award celebrates long-life asphalt pavements that reflect the characteristics of a perpetual pavement design.

The award is presented to state transportation departments and local agency road owners for well-performing asphalt pavements that are at least 35 years old with a proven high-quality structural design. To earn the award, the pavement must not have suffered a structural failure, and it should have an average interval between resurfacing of no less than 12 years. The road must demonstrate excellence in design, quality in construction and value to taxpayers.

Engineers at the National Center for Asphalt Technology (NCAT) at Auburn University, evaluated the nominations and validated the results for this year’s award winners. Since the Perpetual Pavement Award was first presented in 2001, 118 pavements in 30 U.S. states and one Canadian province have been honored with the award.

The 2016 winners are:

• Alabama Department of Transportation for a 2.5-mile section of four-lane divided highway on U.S. Highway 31/State Route 3 in Morgan County, between Hartselle and Decatur, Alabama. This is the eighth award for ALDOT.

• Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department for a 2-mile stretch of U.S. Route 167 in Sharp County, between Cave City and Ash Flat, Arkansas. It is the seventh award for AHTD.

• Colorado Department of Transportation for a 10.5-mile section of U.S. Route 40 through Rabbit Ears Pass in Grand, Routt, and Jackson counties. This is the second award for CDOT.

• Florida Department of Transportation for a two-lane arterial on Florida State Road 415 in Volusia County. This is the seventh award for FDOT.

• Minnesota Department of Transportation for a 7.7-mile, two-lane stretch of Minnesota State Highway 371 in Cass County, between Pine River and Backus, Minnesota. Fifteen MnDOT pavements have earned an award more than any other state or agency.

• Montana Department of Transportation for a 9.5-mile, four-lane, divided median section of Interstate 15 in Beaverhead County. This is the fourth award for MDT.

• Pennsylvania Department of Transportation for a 2.89-mile section of two-lane Pennsylvania Route 73 in Berks County, between Maidencreek and Ruscombmanor townships. PennDOT has earned six awards.

• South Carolina Department of Transportation for a 2.6-mile, four-lane, divided section of Interstate 26 in Berkeley County. SCDOT has earned six awards.

• Tennessee Department of Transportation for a 2.8-mile section of two-lane highway on State Route 50 in Maury County. This is the 12th award earned by TDOT.

• Washington State Department of Transportation for a 5.01-mile, four-lane with a divided median segment of State Route 512 in Pierce County. This is the third award earned by WSDOT.

Winning agencies are honored by their local state asphalt pavement association and are presented with an engraved crystal obelisk. The names of winning agencies and projects are added to a plaque on permanent display at the NCAT Research Center at Auburn University.

The Asphalt Pavement Alliance is a partnership of the Asphalt Institute, National Asphalt Pavement Association and the State Asphalt Pavement Associations.