Competition seeks best transportation projects of 2010

Competition seeks best transportation projects of 2010The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), AAA and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce launched the fourth annual America’s Transportation Awards competition, which recognizes the nation’s outstanding transportation projects.

“America’s transportation system leads the world in its efficiency, quality of construction, and innovation,” said John Horsley, AASHTO executive director. “The America’s Transportation Awards recognize the hard work of state DOTs from coast to coast to make that happen.”

State departments of transportation are being encouraged to enter their best transportation projects in four categories: “On Time,” “Under Budget,” “Innovative Management,” and “Best Recovery Act Project.” Entries must first compete in four regional competitions. A panel of independent judges assigns each project a total number of points. Projects earning the highest number of overall points win regional prizes. The 10 projects scoring the highest number of points will move on to vie for two national awards – the Grand Prize and the People’s Choice Award. Both awards come with a $10,000 prize that can be used by the winning state for an education grant in the transportation field or to support a community project or charity.

“AAA is pleased to once again cosponsor America’s Transportation Awards with AASHTO and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce,” said Jill Ingrassia, managing director, AAA government relations and traffic safety advocacy. “This campaign helps bring national attention to transportation and its impact on the economy and quality of life. It highlights state transportation projects that are delivered on time, on budget, and use innovative ideas and processes, all of which help provide real value and benefit to those who use the system.”

Last year, 28 states and the District of Columbia entered 43 projects for consideration. The Missouri Department of Transportation won the 2010 Grand Prize for the I-64 St. Louis Project. The Mississippi Department of Transportation won the People’s Choice Award for the Laurel S-Curve Reconstruction Project.

Janet Kavinoky, director of transportation infrastructure in the Congressional and Public Affairs Division at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, said “Now more than ever, it is important to showcase transportation investments that really make a difference in the performance of the nation’s transportation system and demonstrate to the American people that the organizations that sponsor projects can get the work done on time, under budget, and using cutting-edge management techniques.”

Deadline for entries is April 22.