APA announces winners of 2007 Perpetual Pavement awards

The Asphalt Pavement Alliance (APA) presented the 2007 Perpetual Pavement Awards at a ceremony on November 12, 2008 in Nashville, Tenn. at the International Warm Mix Asphalt Conference.

The award is given to owners of asphalt pavements that are at least 35 years old and have never had a structural failure. The road must demonstrate the qualities expected from long-life asphalt pavements: excellence in design, quality in construction, and value to the traveling public.

The 2007 winners, as determined by the National Center for Asphalt Technology (NCAT) and validated by a panel of industry experts, are:

• The Connecticut Department of Transportation for a 2.75-mile stretch of Route 82 in Haddam

• The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet for a 4-mile section of US 60 in Boyd County

• The Michigan Department of Transportation for a 5.2-mile section of M-24 that runs from the north village limits of Mayville to M-46

• The Minnesota Department of Transportation for a 6-mile section of Trunk Highway 71 in Kandiyohi County

• The Mississippi Department of Transportation for 10.8 miles of US 78 in Desoto County

• The Missouri Department of Transportation for a 12.5-mile section of US Route 54 in Camden County

• The Montana Department of Transportation for a 6-mile section of Interstate 15 through the eastern portion of the city of Helena

• The Ohio Department of Transportation for a 4.7-mile section of US 30 in Stark County

• The South Carolina Department of Transportation for a section of Interstate 20 in Kershaw County between US Route 601 and US Route 521

• The Tennessee Department of Transportation for a 5-mile section of Tennessee State Route 11 in Marshall County

• The Wisconsin Department of Transportation for the southbound lanes of U.S. Highway 41 from Suamico to Abrams.

US Congressman Bart Gordon (D-TN), Chairman of the House Science and Technology Committee, was a guest speaker at the awards ceremony. Congressman Gordon along with APA Co-Chairman Mike O’Leary and NAPA president Mike Acott presented each Perpetual Pavement winner with an engraved crystal obelisk. Each winner also received a plaque and had its name and project information added to a plaque that is on permanent display at NCAT.

The Asphalt Pavement Alliance is a coalition of the National Asphalt Pavement Association, the Asphalt Institute, and the State Asphalt Pavement Associations. The Asphalt Pavement Alliance’s mission is to further the use and quality of hot-mix asphalt pavements. The Alliance will accomplish this through research, technology transfer, engineering, education, and innovation.