AAPT: Connecting asphalt scholars and pracitioners

To many in the asphalt industry, a meeting of the Association of Asphalt Paving Technologists (AAPT) is a chance to reconnect with friends and colleagues while expanding our knowledge of asphalt.

AAPT was founded in 1924 when a small group of people met in Chicago, and decided to establish an association for the consideration of the technology of asphalt paving. Since then, AAPT has grown in membership from its original 19 charter members to its present roster of nearly 800 members worldwide. The AAPT Journal, first published in 1928, now consists of 76 volumes and constitutes a widely-referenced and prestigious source of literature in the field of asphalt paving technology.

The main objectives of AAPT are to:

  • advance asphalt paving technology;
  • encourage communication among professionals charged with technical responsibility for the production and laying of asphalt pavements, production of materials, or construction and construction equipment;
  • serve as a central exchange of ideas related to the technology of asphalt paving; and
  • conduct, encourage and collate research in the asphalt paving industry.

This year, AAPT celebrated its 83rd Annual Meeting, April 27-30, 2008, in Philadelphia. Two hundred sixty-seven people attended the event. In addition to the excellent technical sessions, including a Symposium session entitled “Implementation of the New Mechanistic-Empirical Design Guide,” the meeting was highlighted by a Monday evening event at the Constitution Center sponsored by NuStar. Another highlight was the introduction of a Strategic Plan, designed to re-think all aspects of the Association—such as membership, meetings, the Journal, and staff, with an eye towards the future retirement of Gene Skok, Secretary-Treasurer of AAPT for 39 years (and an AI Roll of Honor recipient).

At the Annual Banquet, AAPT honored Doug Coleman and Dr. Dallas Little (Texas A&M) with the “Award of Recognition” and Dr. Ray Brown, former Director of the National Center for Asphalt Technology (NCAT), with “Honorary Membership”, the highest award presented by AAPT. At the end of the meeting, Professor Stephen Brown turned over the office of President of AAPT to AI’s Director of Research, Mike Anderson. Mike is the third Asphalt Institute employee in the last 25 years to serve as AAPT President following Fred Waller (1994/95) and Vyt Puzinauskas (1984/85).

AAPT is an essential professional organization for people in the asphalt industry. If you are not already a member, check it out at www.asphalttechnology.org.