2023 Asphalt Institute Foundation Kirk Scholars announced

The Asphalt Institute Foundation (AIF) is pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the Bill and Shireen Kirk Scholarships.

The scholarships are annually awarded to third or fourth-year undergraduate, masters or doctoral students studying business, chemistry, civil engineering, construction management, marketing or sales. Scholarship funds totaling $18,000 were awarded to this group for the 2023-24 school year.

Since the program’s inception in 2020, over $88,000 in scholarship funds have been awarded to students across the United States.

This year’s Kirk Scholars are:

• Kelina Evans, Michigan State University

• Shilpa Girish, Clemson University

• Tyler Kleinsasser, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology

• Carolina Ruiz, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

• Trung Tran, Auburn University

• Elizabeth Turochy, Auburn University

“The Asphalt Institute Foundation is honored to partner with Bill and Shireen Kirk on this annual scholarship program. Since 2020, this program has assisted nearly 20 students in attaining their educational goals at the post-secondary level. We are thrilled to bring the Kirk’s vision to life by supporting the educational pursuits of the next generation of industry leaders,” said Asphalt Institute Foundation Programs and Development Director Susie Tanner.

Applications for the 2024 scholarship program will be available later this fall. Learn more about the program.