MnDOT honored with APA Perpetual Pavement Award

MnDOT honored with APA Perpetual Pavement Award The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) received their Asphalt Pavement Alliance (APA) Perpetual Pavement award in December at the Minnesota Asphalt Pavement Association annual meeting in St. Louis Park, Minnesota.

Accepting the award from APA Executive Director Mike Kvach (left) were Troy Plaster of Ulland Brothers, Inc. (center) and MnDOT Deputy Commissioner and Chief Engineer Bernie Arseneau (right.)

These national awards are given to owners of asphalt pavements that are at least 35 years old and have never had a structural failure. The average interval between resurfacing of each winning pavement must be no less than 12 years.

MnDOT was singled out for a five-mile section of U.S. Trunk Highway 61 from milepost 57.5 to 62.5. Initial construction began in 1969 on the pavement, which is part of the 154-mile North Shore Scenic Byway that connects Duluth to Grand Portage.

Each winner receives an engraved crystal obelisk and a plaque. Their names and the names of the projects will be added to a permanent plaque that is kept at NCAT.

The Asphalt Pavement Alliance is a coalition of the National Asphalt Pavement Association, the Asphalt Institute and the State Asphalt Pavement Associations. The Asphalt Pavement Alliance’s mission is to further the use and quality of asphalt pavements.