APA bestows Perpetual Pavement Awards

The Asphalt Pavement Alliance (APA) handed out the 2008 Perpetual Pavement Awards October 1st in Columbus, Ohio at the International Conference on Perpetual Pavements.

The award is given to owners of asphalt pavements that are at least 35 years old and never have had a structural failure. The average interval between resurfacing of each winning pavement must be no less than 13 years. The road must demonstrate the qualities expected from long-life asphalt pavements: excellence in design, quality in construction and value to the traveling public.

Engineers at the National Center for Asphalt Technology (NCAT) evaluated the nominations for the Perpetual Pavement Award and a panel of industry experts validated the winners. They are:

• The Arkansas Department of Transportation for a 1.19-mile stretch of Highway 79 in Quachita County.

• The Maryland Department of Transportation—State Highway Administration for 3.8 miles of US 50 in Talbot County.

• The Minnesota Department of Transportation for two miles of State Route 36 in Washington County near Stillwater.

• The Mississippi Department of Transportation for 10.9 miles of US 90 in Jackson between Ocean Springs and Gautier.

• The Tennessee Department of Transportation for five miles of westbound State Route 1- US 11 in Grainger County.

• The Washington Department of Transportation for 3.7 miles of Interstate 5 between Seattle and Everett.

Each winner received an engraved crystal obelisk and a plaque and will have their name and project added to a permanent plaque, which is kept at NCAT.

The Asphalt Pavement Alliance is a coalition of the National Asphalt Pavement Association, the Asphalt Institute and the State Asphalt Pavement Associations. The Alliance’s mission is to further the use and quality of asphalt pavements. The Alliance will accomplish this through research, technology transfer, engineering, education and innovation. For more information about Perpetual Pavements, visit www.asphaltalliance.com.

CAPTION: Front row (l-r) Sayjol Barrow (Maryland DOT), Steve Twedt (Mississippi DOT), Phil McConnell (Arkansas DOT), Bob Glenn (Washington DOT), Mike Huner (Tennessee DOT), Jill Thomas (Minnesota DOT). Back row Mike Acott (NAPA), Mike O’Leary (APA co-chair), Gaylen Ghylin (APA co-chair), Pete Grass (AI).

APA bestows Perpetual Pavement Awards