AASHTO names Trombino president

Trombino_webThe American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Board of Directors today elected Iowa Department of Transportation Director Paul Trombino III, association president.

While he plans to continue pursing AASHTO’s policy priorities – including Congressional action on a new surface transportation bill – Trombino will primarily focus his time as president on ensuring AASHTO is well positioned to serve its members.

“Transportation powers prosperity across the United States, stimulating opportunity for economic activity and quality of life,” said Trombino. “AASHTO has served its members well for more than a hundred years and it’s important that we continue to adapt to ensure we can meet the evolving needs of our membership.”

Trombino was appointed Director of the Iowa Department of Transportation in May 2011. Prior to joining Iowa DOT, Trombino worked at the Wisconsin Department of Transportation for 17 years holding several positions, including operations director of the highway division and director of the Bureau of Transit, Local Roads, Rails and Harbors.

David Bernhardt, P.E., commissioner of the Maine Department of Transportation was elected AASHTO vice president. He was appointed commissioner of the Maine Department of Transportation in February 2011. Commissioner Bernhardt joined the Maine Department of Transportation in 1984 and has held several positions at the department over the years.

AASHTO represents state departments of transportation in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.