2024 AIF Kirk Scholars announced

The Asphalt Institute Foundation is pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the Bill and Shireen Kirk Scholarship. The scholarships are awarded annually to third or fourth-year undergraduate, master’s or doctoral students studying business, chemistry, civil engineering, construction management, marketing or sales.

Scholarship funds totaling $25,000 were awarded to this group for the 2024-25 school year. Since the program’s inception in 2020, over $113,000 in scholarship funds have been awarded to students across the United States.

This year’s Kirk Scholars are:

Anthony Brenes-Calderon

Anthony is a civil engineering/pavement and materials engineering major at Auburn University. He is interested in sustainable roadway development.

Kevin Dennis

Kevin is a civil engineering major at Clemson University. He plans to graduate in May of 2025 and work as a field engineer.

Tyler Kleinsasser

Tyler is a civil engineering/engineering management major at the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology. His ultimate career goal is to start his own consulting company.

Samuel Lambert

Samuel is a civil engineering/MBA student at the University of Kentucky. He would like to work in project management, estimation and consulting.

Joshua Trimm

Joshua is pursuing a master’s degree in civil engineering with a focus on structures at the University of Texas at Austin. He plans to build better roads and bridges for the people in his community.

“The AI Foundation extends our congratulations not only to this year’s recipients but to all the 2024 Kirk Scholar applicants. The future is bright for our next generation of industry leaders as they complete their post-secondary education,” said Asphalt Institute Foundation Programs and Development Director Susie Tanner.

Applications for the 2025 scholarship program will be available in early January. Learn more at asphaltfoundation.org.