Rubblizing to rehabilitate existing pavements

By Travis Walbeck, P.E., NCAT and Robert Horan, P.E., Asphalt Institute

Highway agencies around the country face a challenge when trying to find a solution to address deteriorated concrete pavements. A few viable options are available for sound rehabilitation techniques that will result in asphalt pavements with excellent service life.

Removing the old concrete and replacing it with new portland cement concrete (PCC) pavement is an expensive option. Removing the concrete and constructing a new hot mix asphalt (HMA) pavement is normally less expensive, but it still incurs the cost of removing and wasting the old pavement. Overlaying the existing concrete with HMA is relatively inexpensive. However, with this option, reflective cracking can be a maintenance problem.